HITRUST Announces HITRUST CSF Roadmap Including a New Simplified Program for Small Healthcare Organizations and NIST Cybersecurity Framework Certification
<< All Press Releases

Date: March 1, 2017

HITRUST announced its 2017 roadmap for key enhancements to the HITRUST CSF as well as a new CSF initiative targeting smaller healthcare organizations to support their information risk management programs and improve their cyber resilience. HITRUST will also be expanding the controls required for HITRUST CSF Certification, from 66 to no more than 75, to enhance its support for an organization’s attestation of compliance with the NIST Cybersecurity Framework. CSF Certified organizations will be able to provide both HIPAA and NIST Cybersecurity Framework compliance scorecards based on a single CSF assessment, incorporated into the HITRUST CSF Assessment Report.

View the official press release.

The HITRUST CSF continues to be the most widely adopted information privacy and security framework that provides healthcare organizations with a comprehensive, scalable, and certifiable approach to regulatory compliance and risk management. Our 2017 roadmap demonstrates HITRUST’s continued efforts to ensure the HITRUST CSF and CSF Assurance programs remain relevant and effective given the changing cyber threat and information risk landscape, and its leadership in advancing the state of information protection for the healthcare industry.

In response to feedback from smaller healthcare organizations looking for a viable means to meet regulatory demands while protecting their business against cyber threats, HITRUST collaborated with the physician community and small businesses to develop and pilot a new program called CSFBASICs (CSF Basic Assurance and Simple Institution Cybersecurity). This program provides lower-risk organizations with a simplified set of requirements and a streamlined assessment approach that is easier to understand and implement, while providing third parties—including regulators—appropriate assurances and transparency into their information privacy and security programs. The CSFBASICs and CSFBASICs Assurance programs are currently in the final phase of piloting and are scheduled for general availability in Q3 2017.

The HITRUST CSF and CSF Assurance Program already provide the foundation for healthcare’s implementation of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, and forms the basis for current Healthcare and Public Health (HPH) sector guidance. Given the increased risks associated with cyber threats and renewed focus on cyber resilience, HITRUST is further enhancing the CSF and CSF Assurance programs to provide better guidance, assurance and support to organizations, while encouraging a greater focus on cyber resilience within the industry.

To help ensure continued efficacy and relevancy, HITRUST, in consultation with the HITRUST CSF Advisory Council, actively solicits input from the industry on potential changes and updates to the framework, in addition to comments on those changes implemented with each new release of the HITRUST CSF. The recent creation of the HITRUST Threat Catalogue will further enhance the underlying risk analyses used to develop the HITRUST CSF and help ensure the HITRUST CSF and CSF Assurance Program continue to remain current and relevant in a heightened threat environment.

There are two HITRUST CSF releases scheduled in 2017. A minor release—CSF v8.1—that was made available on February 6, 2017, and a major release—CSF v9—which is scheduled for July 2017. Among several minor enhancements, the HITRUST CSF v8.1 release updates content and mappings for PCI DSS v3.2 and MARS-E v2. A more detailed explanation of the updates in the v8.1 release can be found in the HITRUST CSF v8.1 Summary of Changes (included as part of the complete HITRUST CSF download).

With the v9 release targeted for July, HITRUST will ensure relevant CSF control requirements are aligned with language in the second release of the Office for Civil Rights (OCR)’s Audit Protocol. Given the healthcare industry’s increasing reliance on the Cloud, FedRAMP requirements will also be incorporated. The intent is to provide guidance to providers and consumers of Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) offerings on roles and responsibilities for HITRUST CSF control requirements, and support a targeted assessment and certification approach for IaaS providers.

Other authoritative sources to be added to v9 include the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council’s IT Examination Handbook – Information Security requirements, in order to improve use by organizations outside of healthcare; the Department of Homeland Security’s Cyber Resilience Review (CRR), in order to further support its foundational role in healthcare’s implementation of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework; and the HITRUST Threat Catalogue, which will be fully integrated with v10 in 2018.

Because HITRUST recognizes that the need to integrate additional authoritative sources potentially increases the complexity of the framework and the assessments conducted against it, HITRUST is also working diligently to further harmonize these requirements in future releases including v9. By continuing to consolidate and streamline these requirements in the HITRUST CSF, HITRUST CSF assessments will continue to provide the most robust, efficient and cost-effective levels of assurance.

If you have questions about the HITRUST CSF v8.1 updates, please feel free to contact HITRUST at info@hitrustalliance.net. The Healthcare Sector NIST Cybersecurity Framework Implementation Guide is available from the Department of Homeland Security – Cybersecurity Framework Website.

<< All Blogs

Chat Now

This is where you can start a live chat with a member of our team