HITRUST Alliance Announces First Awards Program to Honor Outstanding Achievements in the Advancement of Information Protection in the Healthcare Industry
<< All Press Releases

Date: March 17, 2009

Mar 17, 2009

Frisco, TX – March 17, 2009 – The Health Information Trust Alliance (HITRUST) today announced the creation of the first annual awards program that aims to identify and distinguish outstanding achievements in the advancement of information protection in the healthcare industry. The HITRUST InfoSec Awards aim to recognize innovation and leadership in the areas of Security and Privacy, Education and Training, Awareness and Culture, Crisis Response, and Industry Contributions.

“The need for appropriate, consistent and practical security and privacy of health information is taking center stage with the nation’s move to electronic health records as well as the dramatic rise in breaches and theft of personal medical data. Now more than ever, organizations have a corporate responsibility to safeguard and protect sensitive health information and ensure consumer confidence in the use of information technology. We as an industry need to recognize and acknowledge those organizations that are creating the model for others to follow,” said Daniel Nutkis, Chief Executive Officer, HITRUST. “HITRUST is very fortunate to have the support and participation of a number of these leaders who have dedicated the resources and time to improve not just their own organization, but the entire healthcare industry.”

HITRUST also announced today that it has recognized five organizations with the HITRUST Leadership Award. These organizations are honored for their exceptional dedication and contribution in the creation of the HITRUST Common Security Framework (CSF), and their exemplary leadership for the entire healthcare industry. The HITRUST Leadership Awards are presented to:

· Baylor Health Care System
· Express Scripts
· Humana Inc.
· Highmark
· Kaiser Permanente

Nomination forms for the first annual HITRUST InfoSec Awards can be found on HITRUST Central (www.hitrustcentral.net) beginning today. The deadline for submissions is November 15th, 2009 at 11:00 p.m. CST. A panel of six judges representing a broad set of industry stakeholders will review the nominations and select one winner in each category. The awards will be presented at the 2010 Annual HITRUST Summit.

The Health Information Trust Alliance (HITRUST) was born out of the belief that information security should be a core pillar of, rather than an obstacle to, the broad adoption and utilization of health information technologies and exchanges. This, in turn, is critical to realizing the related promise of quality improvement and cost containment in America’s healthcare system. HITRUST is collaborating with healthcare, business, technology, and information security leaders to establish a certifiable framework that can be used by any and all organizations that create, access, store or exchange personal health and financial information. Beyond the establishment of the first common security framework, HITRUST is also driving adoption and widespread confidence in the framework and sound risk management practices through awareness, education, advocacy and other outreach activities. For more information, visit https://www.HITRUSTalliance.net.


All product and company names herein may be trademarks of their respective owners.

Chat Now

This is where you can start a live chat with a member of our team